2016 Solas Awards


2016 Solas Awards - April 20, 2016

Wednesday April 20, 2016

5:30 - 8:00 PM

Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel - 201 N. 17th Street

The Solas Awards are an annual honor bestowed upon individuals in the Philadelphia region by the Welcoming Center for New Pennsylvanians for their contributions to improving the quality of life for immigrants to Pennsylvania. 

Join us in honoring:

  • Mayor Jim Kenney will be given the Dennis Clark Solas Award for his ongoing commitment to the Welcoming Center and to immigrant issues throughout the City of Philadelphia.
  • Tim Haahs, a Korean immigrant and the President & CEO of Timothy Haahs & Associates, a professional engineering firm he founded in 1994, will be given the Realizing the American Dream Award.
  • Dan Hilferty and Independence Blue Cross will be given the Atlas Award for Creating Opportunity for their support of the Welcoming Center, and for building a strong and diverse workplace by recruiting and retaining international talent, and providing opportunities to hardworking individuals of all backgrounds, including immigrants.

Click here to purchase tickets online:  http://welcomingcenter.ticketleap.com/2016solas/For more information about the event, to become a sponsor or to purchase an ad in the program book, please contact Rebecca at 215.557.2858, or rebecca@welcomingcenter.org. Click here for a sponsorship and ad form.

Join our List of Sponsors! 


Independence Blue Cross


Robert and Patricia Aglira

Nina Chen and Eric Langenmayr

Citizens Bank

Greater Philadelphia Chamber of Commerce


Jyoti Indian Bistro